Lent and the Days of Easter

Lent and the Days of Easter

Lent is a forty-six day penitence season that begins on Ash Wednesday and ends on Holy Saturday, the day before Easter Sunday.  It is symbolic of the forty days Jesus spent out in the wilderness before his ministry.

Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday is the first day of Lent, and gets its name from the practice of placing ashes on the foreheads of the faithful to remind them of the dust we all return to once we die.

Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is one week before Easter and celebrates Jesus' entry into Jerusalem. This begins the Holy Week. Thursday signifies the Last Supper of Jesus with his disciples. Good Friday represents the crucifixion, and Easter Sunday celebrates Jesus' resurrection and ascent to heaven.

Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday, the day before Easter Sunday, is when some churches start their celebration of Easter very late in the evening at service called the Easter Vigil.

Easter Sunday
Easter Sunday is usually celebrated with a sunrise service.
The holiday commemorates Jesus' last days: The Last Supper, The Cross, and His Resurrection into heaven.


Previous Post Next Post

  • Culture Greetings